“Comforting My Friend” by Kushal Poddar

Photo by Sheep . on Pexels.com
I too have read the book,
skipped the verses on bereavement
the way one relies on the footnotes
to survive his biology test
and later regret.
 
Today near the dead and her
grieving offspring I fail.
I lower my head. I too have death
and deafness on my palms.
I study.
 
Copyright © 2024 Kushal Poddar
All Rights Reserved


The author of Postmarked Quarantine, Kushal Poddar has eight books to his credit. He is a journalist, father, and the editor of Words Surfacing. His works have been translated into twelve languages, published across the globe. You can follow Kushal on Twitter- https://twitter.com/Kushalpoe.

Submit to MasticadoresUSA and subscribe for more great reads! 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Meelosmom says:

    Thank you for this beautiful submission! We appreciate all of them!

    Like

  2. I like this poem very much.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment