“The Mating Call” by Cindy Georgakas

Image Source: Openverse
I sit patiently to capture you as you fly past with not as much as 
a notice that I exist. I resume my activities as you once again 
sweep past my hair and flutter.

As soon as I put my head back in a book, you’re back again; 

This time hovering in front of me standing
still 
in midair.

My heart stops. When I look up, you’re gone again. 

You’re beautiful, elusive, mysterious and I can’t help wondering 

what you are in such a hurry to do.

What could possibly be so important? 

If I sit and wait patiently, you avoid me, but 

when I’m not looking, you make yourself known.

I fantasize that you must be flirting with me, trying to win my attention, 

but this dance of a mating call teases and delights in its ability 

to be mesmerized by my existence.

I pull my camera out slowly as you make another sweep around, 

determined to capture you, but when I snap a shot for a final time, 

you flee making a fool out of me.

And here I thought I had found my mate. 

Oh, for the prerogative of a dragon fly. I call your bluff and leave, 

you stand before me as I snap but it’s too late—I’ve grown wings.

Copyright © 2024 Cindy Georgakas
All Rights Reserved


Cindy is a San Francisco native and currently lives nestled in the trees in a small community with her husband and 3 fur babies. She is a certified Life Coach, Personal Trainer, Yoga/Meditation teacher, and Body Worker. She draws inspiration from her family, friends, clients, and nature. She is also a recognized author, publishing her first book, Re-Create & Celebrate: 7 Steps to Live the Life of Your Dreams, available on Amazon and in local bookstores. Cindy is Author of The Year on Spillwords Press for 2023 and was voted Author of the Month on Spillwords Press in April 2023 and Publication of the Month on Spillwords in October 2022. She is a co-author of #1 Amazon Bestseller, Wounds I Healed: The Poetry of Strong Women and # 1 Bestseller, Hidden in Childhood: A Poetry Anthology. She is a Treasured Contributor to MastecadoresUsa. Her website is Uniquely Fit. She can also be found on Instagram #ahamoments.

Submit to MasticadoresUSA and subscribe for more great reads! 

41 Comments Add yours

  1. crazy4yarn2 says:

    I love this, Cindy!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so very much!!! 💕

      Liked by 2 people

  2. More than worthy of a second read!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Sweet words to my ears, Annette💕💓💗

      Liked by 2 people

  3. ivor20 says:

    Perfectly penned Cindy … preciously ponderous …

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oh thank you so very much, Ivor, I’m grateful for your appreciation💗

      Liked by 2 people

      1. ivor20 says:

        My pleasure Cindy 😊

        Liked by 2 people

  4. Meelosmom says:

    Thank you, Cindy, for another beautiful submission! We appreciate your collaborations and participation here!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re so very welcome, Barbara and so glad you appreciate my work. Thank you for your steadfast support that means the world to me!💗

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Meelosmom says:

        You’re so welcome!

        Like

  5. Milena Alien says:

    Beautiful poetry

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so very much, Milena!!!💗

      Liked by 2 people

  6. A beautifully done poem, Cindy. Everything is so vivid and playful here, and I love that last line. Snappy! ^_^

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so very much, Joyce. I’m truly elated you enjoyed my playfulness in my poem and last line! 💗🙏🏼💗

      Liked by 2 people

      1. I sure did. You’re a very talented wordsmith, Cindy.

        Liked by 1 person

  7. As uper poem, Cindy. Thanks for sharing it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sooo delighted you enjoyed it John, Thank you so much🙏🏼💗

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Frank. I’m most grateful❣️

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Congratulations Cindy! A pleasure to read this simple yet beautiful poem <3!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m elated you enjoyed it Radhika and grateful for your comments in both places🌹 Thank you 🙏🏼

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Destiny says:

    Congratulations once again, Cindy 🎉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. And thank you again, Destiny🙏🏼❣️

      Liked by 2 people

    2. I visualized every moment of your poem, Cindy, and enjoyed each word.

      Liked by 2 people

  10. Dawn says:

    Beautiful, Cindy! 💞💞💞 Love how you captured the elusiveness of the dragon fly. 💞

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so happy to hear you liked that part and appreciate you sharing it with me, Dawn. Thank you ❣️💗🙏🏼

      Liked by 2 people

  11. Sadje says:

    Oh I love this C poem Cindy. Congratulations 🎈🎊🎉

    Liked by 1 person

  12. This is really beautiful, Cindy, and I love the ending! Congratulations on the recognition! 💖

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so very much, Lauren and so happy you liked the ending. I had a lot of fun with this poem. Thanks for being here and there too💗 I appreciate the “you’ve got mail reminder”!

      Liked by 2 people

      1. You’re so welcome, Cindy, and of course! 💝

        Liked by 2 people

  13. Wonderful poem, Cindy!

    Like

  14. Edward Ortiz says:

    Wonderful poem.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. byngnigel says:

    lovely poem Cindy. So typical of life. You flirt and beat around the bush too long, and you lose that opportunity. Dragon fly’s loss. 🥰

    Liked by 1 person

  16. merrildsmith says:

    Beautiful, Cindy! Congratulations!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. jonicaggiano says:

    This is very sweet piece Cindy. I truly can see the dragonfly buzzing about and then disappearing before you know it. The ending was very sweet. Sending big hugs and love, Joni ❤️

    Like

  18. Eugi says:

    Beautifully penned, Cindy, and I enjoyed your first-person approach. 💕

    Liked by 1 person

  19. rothpoetry says:

    Very well written, Cindy. Love having the dragonfly flirting with you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment