About Us and the New Submission Guidelines

https://www.pexels.com/@furkanfdemir/

ABOUT MASTICADORESUSA

In 2019, Juan Re Crivello established Gobblers/ Masticadores. In 2021, he founded Masticadores USA. Gabriela Marie Milton became the first editor of the English edition based in the United States. Other editions of Masticadores are in Spanish, Italian, Romanian, French, English and Portuguese. Masticadores now has 16 publishers and 200 writers in 10 countries. In 2022, there were already 250,000 views. In November
2022, Barbara Leonhard became editor of Masticadores USA.

ABOUT ME

I’m a retired Instructor of English as a Second Language. Although I have been writing since I was age 8, after retiring in 2017, I have had more time to devote to writing. My WordPress site is extraordinarysunshineweaver.blog. My work appears in online and print literary magazines, journals, and anthologies, and my poetry has won awards and recognition. My debut poetry collection, Three-Penny Memories: A PoeticMemoir (EIF-Experiments in Fiction, 2022), which is about my relationship with my mother, who suffered from Alzheimer’s, achieved best-seller status on Amazon. Also, on Spillwords, I was voted Author of the Month of October 2021, nominated Author of the Year for 2021, and recognized as a Spillwords Socialite of the Year in 2021. I’ve received two Pushcart nominations, and Trending Poets awarded me Poet of the Year (2023). I enjoy bringing writers together and have been sponsoring open mics on Zoom. I live in the Midwest of the United States with my husband, Dierik, and our cat, Jasper. Dierik and I enjoy long drives to the
wetlands to count the deer.

SUBMISSION GUIDELINES

MasticadoresUSA accepts poetry, reviews, and short fiction.  We accept various poetic forms, such as rhyming, free verse, prose poems, and so on. We accept interviews, travelogues (with photos), memoir and art pieces. If you have your own art to feature with your writing, our readers will applaud. We may alter the format of your submission based on space. Surprise us!

Please make sure your work clearly states your full name and title.

We are flexible about the themes, but we will not publish work that is sexist, racist, homophobic, sexually explicit, or hateful.

Your work must be original. Plagiarism isn’t tolerated.  No AI writing will be accepted.

We prefer no simultaneous submissions.  If your work has been accepted elsewhere, and you have also submitted to MasticadoresUSA, please inform me.

If you are submitting a reprint, please inform me of where the work first appeared. 

Before submitting, please check your piece for errors and inconsistencies. We are more likely to accept polished work.

Email me with submissions: meelosmom@gmail.com . Please use one email thread for communication about each submission. 

In the Subject line: SUBMISSION to MasticadoresUSA: Title of Work 

In the body of the email: You might say …

Hello, Barbara,

I would like to submit (title). I have attached a short bio (50-75 words).

Provide your website/ blog address  in your Bio.

Upload your bio and submission in a docx attachment, and send the author photo as an attachment. Please no PDFs.

You are not required to provide a featured image. If you do, please give the source link.

Please sign the email with your full name.

We will reply within two weeks (hopefully).

We look forward to your submissions! Beginning in 2024, we will nominate for Best of the Net and the Pushcart Prize! 

Editor

Barbara Harris Leonhard,

Amazon Best-Selling Author, Three-Penny Memories: A Poetic Memoir, (EIF-Experiments in Fiction, 2022), Pushcart Nominee, 2022, 2023; Trending Poets Poet of the Year 2023

Facebook: Barbara Harris Leonhard/barbara.leonhard, Twitter: @BarbaraLeonhar4, Instagram: @meelosmom123, Linked In: ExtraordinarySunshineWeaver

Michelle Ayon Navajas, Editor for Hotel Masticadores and CoEditor for the new Masticadores edition in the Philippines, created this logo for MasticadoresUSA!

577 Comments Add yours

Leave a comment