“THE ENCOUNTER” by Sharmini Rogers

Photo by Miriam Fischer on Pexels.com

I was driving down the countryside enjoying the summer tranquility and beauty.  The sunflowers were blooming giving the fields a hue of gold.  The sight reflected my joy and tranquility.  All of a sudden out of nowhere I saw a deer trying to dash across the road in front of me.  I automatically braked.  Thank God no one was behind me. Just for a split second it turned towards me and stared straight into my eyes. I gasped. It was just in a blink of an eye, but it felt like a lifetime.  As I stared into its eyes, deep within me there was a recognition. Recognition of a soul once known.  We stared at each other.  Then the deer nodded at me and galloped on to the other side.  I was so shocked I had to pull over and take deep breaths.  Closing my eyes I saw those amazing bright loving eyes again.  My heart exploded and I found myself sobbing as if I would not stop, could not stop.  After several gulps of air, I subsided.  Who was that soul I pondered, who held me with its loving eyes and nodded. Was that myself in another time? Was it my dead parents or a lover from a different lifetime? The love was unmistakable, but the nod? Was it acknowledgment or approval? All I know is that the encounter left my heart racing, but my soul singing.  With a glowing smile I continued on my way.

Copyright © 2024 Sharmini Rogers

All Rights Reserved


Sharmini Rogers was born in Malaysia and received a medical degree from India. She practiced as a doctor in Malaysia before getting married and moving to America.  She received a Master’s in Public Health and worked in the Missouri State Health Department for 21 years. She has been a Columbia, Missouri, resident for 33 years. She started writing poems in college and then short stories after she came to the US. Now that she is retired, she is spending more time writing poems and short stories. She has a publication in the 2013 publications of Interpretations: a marriage of visual and literary artists by the Missouri Columbia Art League.  Her passions are cooking, writing and painting.

Submit to MasticadoresUSA and subscribe for more great reads! 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Meelosmom says:

    Sharmini, thank you for this beautiful flash piece about a magical encounter. We hope you submit again!

    Like

  2. jonicaggiano says:

    So nice to read you here Sharmini. I have had the same such look of deer and the kindness and softness in their eyes is amazing. I don’t know how people shoot deer they are such beautiful animals. What a lovely piece. Congratulations on your piece being published on MUSA and I look forward to reading you again here soon. Welcome to the Masticadores family. Big hugs and many blessings to you. Joni

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment