“Lilac Blooms: An Original Painting” by Smitha Vishwanath

“Lilac Blooms” © 2024 by Smitha Vishwanath— SOLD!!

“Lilac Blooms” is inspired by a painting by a Russian artist, Buiko Oleg.


Smitha Vishwanath is your quintessential ‘bored’ banker turned writer. After a rewarding career of two decades in banking, she quit in 2018. Therein began her writing journey on Smitha V Pennings.

Smitha Vishwanath’s poems have found a place in several International online publications, including Thieving Magpies, Spillwords Press, MasticadoresUSA, Silverbirch Press, Borderless Journal and other noteworthy anthologies. Her poem, ‘Omid’, was nominate ‘Best of the Net’ in 2019. ‘Do you Have Dreams’ and ‘Forgotten’, written for the National Poetry Writing Month challenge hosted by Maureen Thompson, won recognition in two consecutive years, 2021 and 2022. Smitha was nominated as Author of the Month by SpillWords Press for her poem ‘Ye Birds on my Windowsill’ in May 2022. She was voted again as Author of the Month for her poem, ‘Two years since you left’ by Spillwords Press, for January and February 2023. She received the Reuel International Prize (2022) for her poetry during National Poetry Writing Month. Coming Home, her debut novel, was released in March 2023 and has been received well by readers. Before this, she co-authored a book of poems, ROADS: A Journey with Verses, in July 2019.   

Smitha currently resides with her husband in Dhaka, Bangladesh. When Smitha’s not writing, you’ll find her reading, blogging, painting, going on long walks absorbing the sights around her, sharing book reviews on Amazon, Goodreads and her blog, or just being. Her poems and writing reflect the experiences of having travelled extensively, lived in different countries and worked in a multicultural environment.

Submit to MasticadoresUSA and subscribe for more great reads! 

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Beautiful painting! I have a fresh bouquet of lilacs in my study as well speak.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Smitha V says:

      Thank you so much, Liz. Lilacs are beautiful. How lovely to have a fresh bouquet. We don’t have them in India.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. This is a very lovely painting. Well done, Smitha🩵

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Smitha V says:

      Robbie, Thank you so much🧡. This is one of my favorite paintings and a friend bought it to gift her mother on her 80th birthday. It made it all the more special.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. That is lovely 💓

        Liked by 2 people

  3. Meelosmom says:

    A gorgeous art piece, Smitha! We’re honored to publish it and happy you are submitting others!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Smitha V says:

    Thank you so much,Barbara. I’m so happy you liked it and gave me the opportunity to showcase my work❤️. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Meelosmom says:

      My pleasure!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. crazy4yarn2 says:

    What a gorgeous painting!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Smitha V says:

      Thank you very much. I’m happy to hear you liked it.

      Liked by 2 people

    1. Smitha V says:

      Thank you so much, Annette!

      Liked by 2 people

  6. jonicaggiano says:

    How truly lovely Smitha. I did not know that you were a painter as well. This is beautiful and I love the way you also drapped the flowers over the wooden bench. Who doesn’t love lilacs? Have a blessed weekend my friend. Big hugs, Joni

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Smitha V says:

      Thank you so much, Joni. I began painting during Covid. I shared my pieces here and am thankful for encouragement I received. It’s helped me continue.
      We don’t get lilacs in India but I love them. I’m so glad you noticed the flowers on the bench. This is one of my favorite paintings. XXX

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment