Under the Sycamore Tree, A Cancer Rots #conceit No.1 by Selma Martin

Image by Ron Porter from Pixabay 

Under the Sycamore Tree, A Cancer Rots #conceit No.1

by Selma Martin

site: https://selmamartin.com/

Eating away like the putrid cancer that I am
holding tight the lies and secrets deep
fossilized I was until the fool turned me over
under day blight, he’s finding me not worth the keep

there’s always the hunger problem
I see itching inside his gnarly head
then there’s the changing & disinfecting 
imposed on me inside this narrow cell

“Crusty with drool.” The scandal digger raps insistently, 
“bloody like hell.” He spits and with sneers punctuates 
but he could be talking to the refrigerator
none of that registers or motivates


I’d rather be safe under the sycamore
where rent is none, and no one rules my ways
rotting, cramped, where sunlight never reaches
is the place where secrets are meant to stay

here he adjusts, preps, and twists me
pinching at lies that will seal his fate 
I see him chattering with his fingers
and adding more to amalgamate

reeks of betrayal, his soul a shadow
perfect environment for lies to propagate
he’s in it for gains, a short-lived illusion
amends and restitution will arrive too late

if day-light is painful and night stirs more his ire
of outrageous maneuvers– the jerk will go berserk
tonight is comeuppance for horning in on others’ murk
under trees unmarked let cancerous secrets expire

@Selma Martin

Gabriela Marie Milton
#1 Amazon Bestseller Author
Books:
Woman: Splendor and Sorrow :I Love Poems and Poetic Prose
Passions: Love Poems and Other Writings

14 Comments Add yours

  1. jonicaggiano says:

    Beautifully paired with the art. A disturbing piece but very descriptive and it paints a picture of horrific suffering. Lovely writing. ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. SelmaMartin says:

      I don’t normally write this horrific. But this poem tapped me on the shoulder/chose me to give it wings. I’m so glad I did it justice. Jonicaggiano, thanks so much for reading and appreciating the poem enough to leavve a comment. Be well. I wish you miracles and may you never encounter a suffering so horrific as this one. Happy new year.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. jonicaggiano says:

        I love trees and am very drawn to them. I don’t mind horrific, we don’t live in a fairy land although I often write about them. Life is hard, gets raw and poets should write about things other than love, although who doesn’t love a great love poem. Your piece was truly beautifully written. I just wrote a poem called Sycamore on MasticadoresIndia. I write often about being drawn to trees. I read it and thought wow a kindred spirit. You are a talented writer who I enjoyed reading very much. You definitely have given it lovely wings! Thank you for your well wishes and you have a great New Years as well. Big hugs 🤗 Joni

        Liked by 1 person

      2. SelmaMartin says:

        You are a sweet soul. I can tell. Thanks for adding. I adore you already. Stay sweet. I’ll look for yours. xoxo

        Like

  2. SelmaMartin says:

    Hey, this honor has made made my eyes glaze over and my heart dance with joy. Thanks so much for publishing my piece in this lovely publication. It’s a dreamy delight right at the start of the year. So grateful. It’s my “something amazingly awesome” today. Thanks, Gabriela. xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Susi Bocks says:

    This is extraordinary, Selma. I felt wrenched in between the words.

    Like

    1. SelmaMartin says:

      I believe that’s the reaction the poem wanted to bring out on the point it tried to make. Thanks for commenting here as well, Susi. I’m honored. xo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Susi Bocks says:

        It certainly did! You’re welcome, Selma!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Ingrid says:

    What a chilling tale, Selma, but wonderful to read you here! ❤️

    Like

    1. SelmaMartin says:

      Ingrid it pleases me to hear you say that. Thank you. xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Nope, Not Pam says:

    The visual imagery was sublime, it really caught a my soul

    Like

  6. Wow Selma your poem speaks to grief and fortitude during challenging times. Imagery speaks for itself pairing well with your piece. I often think I would take rent under the sycamore tree, it C emerged it’s ugly head.
    Congratulations on your published piece!
    💖

    Like

Leave a comment