Beloved by David Gittlin

ivanovgood; pixabay

Beloved
by Dabid Gittlin

[author’s site]

I see a woman shopping in a shoe department.
She is long and lean, quite beautiful
and unmindful of my lustful stare.
She is like so many women men like me desire.
I am a fool, of course.

What I want can never be satisfied by any woman.
Even the most beautiful woman in the world cannot quench the flame that burns within me.

The joys and sorrows of my relationships come and go like passing clouds. I need them, but…

I often forget what I truly want: You, my beloved.
Beyond the fantasies and small desires
conjured by a deceitful magician. Mind brandishes multi-colored shrouds in a deft attempt to lure me away from where You reside.

Your palace is more luxurious, more enchanting
than any abode the world has to offer.
Beyond words.
Beyond imagination.

Beyond the boundaries I call myself.
Sometimes I catch a glimpse of You.
A flawless diamond.
Perfection itself.

Too beautiful for these outer eyes to see.
More precious than a hundred Spanish treasure ships.
Waiting to be discovered.

@David Gittlin

Edgar Allan Poe once wrote: Poetry is the rhythmical creation of beauty in words. This is what MasticadoresUSA is committed to bringing to you.

Please follow our site and read our editorial announcement, and how to submit here.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. jonicaggiano says:

    This is truly beautifully written. People desire what they can’t have and yet when we finally acquire it, the taste is not as wonderful as we had hoped. I especially love these lines:

    “I often forget what I truly want: You, my beloved.
    Beyond the fantasies and small desires
    conjured by a deceitful magician. Mind brandishes multi-colored shrouds in a deft attempt to lure me away from where You reside”.

    Lovely – thank you for the introduction Gabriela and have an amazing day!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. A fascinating glimpse into the masculine psyche! Gorgeous poem! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment