“The Gift of Loving Perfectly Imperfect” by Cindy Georgakas

The hair raises on the nape of my neck, my face squints into condescension, my stomach is twisted like a Navy Seals knot, sucker punched.  My knees buckle, and I fall to the ground when I hear the news that I already knew but so hoped wasn’t true.  

I’m carried to sea; lost, confused, sad and sickened on the turbulent waters where the dark knight circles with vultures, and waves crash against my body that once housed you.

I cautioned you from taking the crumbs and succumbing to leftovers, where scoundrels are vultures preying, but I couldn’t save you. Nor did you want to be saved. Or is it just me that needs to be saved?

My heart bleeds buckets that turn from red to black, magenta rose, tinged with stale perfume on my wrist. But save you from yourself I can’t, as you ride the crescent of a wave and scale the edge of the razor-sharp cliff where the jagged rocks lure you and circus clowns lead you to the plunge.  

The promise of hope drains me as I realize all I ever wanted was for you to have a life you envisioned.  Not one with holes in pockets of denim blue jeans, cheering others on while you ate leftovers at the finest restaurants, rolling the dice.  

The earth falls from under my feet and the sea catches me. My head and arms move to the arctic ice, and my gut and my legs float to the cauldron of the geysers 110 degrees; sink or swim, freeze or burn, shelter found in neither place.  

I weep and remember this feeling of being split in two the day you were born.

I sob the tears beneath the well that has gone dry to clear these judgments that try to take control and float to all of my shortcomings: the things I did, the things I wish I never did, the things I said I wanted.

My life flashes before me realizing the perfection of what I created, and if I never made these mistakes, I would not be here to feel these guttural labor pains and the happiness of mothering you.  

I remember the words of  Khalil Gibran, “Your children are not your children”, to help see me through. One body part at a time, comes floating back in place reconnecting each part together again, whole, where I float in sea salt held by Mother Earth.  

I harness what I have control over and what I don’t, realizing the perfection in this imperfection and the love that stitches our souls together, no matter what the circumstances.

I feel the floor above the earth, and I stand proud and smell the scent of jasmine as we click our stained rose-tinted glasses. I breathe you into my heart as we save each other from the other and just love forever to eternity.

Copyright © 2022 Cindy Georgakas

All Rights Reserved

Cindy Georgakas is a writer of words in poetry, prose and reflections of her heart. She was voted the Publication of the Month on Spillwords Press Oct. 2022.  She is also is also a Co-Author of #1 Amazon Bestseller, Wounds I Healed: The Poetry of Strong Women, and is also a monthly contributor to MastecadoresUsa and online publication. She was born in San Francisco, California and lives nestled in the trees in a small community about 40 minutes south of San Francisco with her husband. She is a life health coach and massage and Craniosacral therapist who draws inspiration from her daily interactions with clients, friends, her 4 children and nature.  Her website is uniquelyfit.net.  She can also be found on Instagram #ahamoments or Twitter The Unique Times with Cindy@theuniquetimes. Cindy’s Site: Unique Times https://uniquelyfitblog.com/.

Featured Image: Photo by Marko Horvat on Unsplash


Editor: Barbara Harris Leonhard

Amazon Best-Selling Author

Three-Penny Memories: A Poetic Memoir (EIF-Experiments in Fiction, 2022)

Pushcart Nominee, 2022

Send Submissions to meelosmom@gmail.com

Facebook: Barbara Harris Leonhard /barbara.leonhard

Twitter: @BarbaraLeonhar4

Instagram: @meelosmom123

Linked In: ExtraordinarySunshineWeaver

Mastodon: @BarbaraLeonhard@msdtn.social

68 Comments Add yours

  1. A magnificent piece, my friend!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much Nancy! 💞

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Phil says:

    A beautiful poetic artwork, as are your gifts as a loving mother ~ great! Thank you for sharing your creative talents, dear Cindy ✍🏼💖

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I really appreciate your sentiments on both my words and more importantly seeing my heart and soul as a mother Phil. I’m honored and blessed, thank you. 💞🙏🏼

      Liked by 2 people

  3. This is a beautiful poetic narrative filled with strength and passion which evokes clear and well defined images. I find Cindy’s poetry enchanting. Lovely work Cindy!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you truly Francis for such a heartfelt comment. I’m truly appreciative! Thank you so very much! 💞💗

      Liked by 2 people

      1. It is always a pleasure Cindy. All the best.

        Liked by 2 people

  4. Sadje says:

    Oh my what powerful imagery and such evocative words. Congratulations Cindy on publication. Excellent poem

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I’m delighted you enjoyed it so much Sadje and very appreciative of your comment. Thank you my friend!💗

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Sadje says:

        Of course my friend. 💖💞💕

        Liked by 2 people

  5. Cindy, thank you for this beautiful submission! I was moved by your poetic and prophetic prose.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. You’re so welcome Barbara and thank you so much for publishing this piece. I’m delighted and honored by your affirmation of my work and your tireless work in support and attention to detail! I’m elated. 💞🙏🏼

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Truly my pleasure! ♥️🌺🌹

        Liked by 2 people

  6. jonicaggiano says:

    Cindy, what a heartwarming and, at times, heart-wrenchingly beautiful piece of writing. To me, this read is so lovely and one I can identify with because I have a daughter. You are vividly writing from your gut about the sometimes tumultuous ups and downs and often the feeling of drowning or failure and other emotions of just wanting the best for the child to which you gave birth. Using the sea (we poets are drawn to the sea by the magnification of its beauty and magic) was a brilliant metaphorical backcloth for this truly loving piece written about the love of mother and child. BRAVO! Also so happy to see you here and hope to continue seeing you here. Sending my love, hugs and appreciation for our friendship. Joni

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much for your valuable information and knowing heart of a mothers love and insight Joni. Yes, the sea is vast and can hold a lot of beauty and magic for us to dive into. I appreciate you and being here to support me in my work here! It’s a blessing to me and I’m grateful as well!
      💗 🤗 Love and Hugs

      Liked by 2 people

      1. jonicaggiano says:

        You are so welcome. I am glad that you will be one of Barbara’s regulars. Your piece was so beautiful and made me think of many things. Magical, if a mother. You described it so beautifully. It has been a blessing to know I will see you there. I always look forward to see what you have written. Thank you for expressing so creatively often things we don’t talk about. Life will always be life with ups and downs. Have a joyous evening. Sending my love Cindy, love and hugs Joni 🦋🌹🤗

        Liked by 2 people

      2. You are a dear friend Joni. Thank you so much for your vote of affirmation. I’m so delighted and always feel a special affinity for our connection Joni. It’s true that many things are left for the imagination and as you know my work is always hones and real. You inspire me to be my authentic self and for that I am so grateful and honored. You have a great evening as well dear Joni my friend! 💞

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Wow! A powerful and fantastic poem!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much Dawn! 💞❤️🙏🏼

      Liked by 2 people

  8. Powerful, emotional, and loaded with imagery. Personally, I felt a sense of motherhood. Well done, Cindy!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. That is such a truly wonderful message Frank and I’m grateful I could take you there to that place. I’m glad you felt those words. Thank you truly! ❣️

      Liked by 2 people

  9. Such a vivid and heartfelt poem, Cindy! You capture the fierce and protective emotions of motherhood. ❤

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much Cheryl! I so much appreciate your affirmative words and knowing heart so much! ❤️

      Liked by 2 people

  10. powerful from start to finish, well done, Cindy! 👏👏❤️‍🔥

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so very much Tricia! 💞

      Liked by 2 people

      1. My pleasure! 💓

        Liked by 2 people

  11. K.Hartless says:

    Love this Pangea sort of piece as you move from togetherness to being apart to finding a wholeness again. It captures the constant nurture and let go of motherhood for me. A piece I will return to.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much K! I’m delighted to know you like my piece and found it relatable. Much appreciated! 💗

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Eugenia says:

    A stunning piece, Cindy, filled with heartfelt thoughts and emotions. 💖

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much Eugi! I’m so appreciative of your comment!! ❣️

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Eugenia says:

        My pleasure, Cindy.💖

        Liked by 2 people

      2. 🙏🏼❤️💗🙏🏼

        Liked by 1 person

  13. Michele Lee says:

    So much emotion poured into this poem. It is palpable. 💗

    Liked by 2 people

    1. So true Michele and I’m glad you could feel it!~ Thanks for letting me know❣️

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Michele Lee says:

        You are welcome, Cindy. 🌸

        Liked by 2 people

  14. That was just beautiful, Cindy. Oh, what an exceptional look at parenthood, the pain, the desire, the letting go into love. I loved this. You’re so talented!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oh thank you so much Diana! I’m really glad you liked my piece! Yes, they take you to your edge and places we never think we can go but you are so right, we let go if we want to maintain a relationship with love and value. Awwww thank you truly for your words!
      💗💗💗

      Liked by 2 people

      1. I can recall how anxious my parents were about us kids and the choices we made, so I immediately felt connected to them reading your piece, Cindy.

        Liked by 2 people

      2. Oh that’s a lovely comment Barbara. Thank you for sharing that. I think that in time we all come to understand how our parents must have felt but it takes some of us longer than others to understand the heart of a parent. ❤️

        Liked by 1 person

  15. I love prose poetry. There is so little of it out there.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I agree and hope I can get more submissions of it. ♥️

      Liked by 2 people

    2. happy to hear that~ 💞

      Liked by 1 person

  16. Goff James says:

    Another beautifully penned work My Friend.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much Goff!
      💞

      Liked by 1 person

  17. Great work Cindy!
    This is gorgeous and so heartfelt. The imagery is beautiful!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I’m delighted you like it Ana Star!
      Thanks so much for your kind affirmation!❣️

      Liked by 2 people

  18. ivor20 says:

    Emotionally brilliant, and the imagery sensationally superb … well done Cindy …🤗😍

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I’m so delighted to hear your kind praise Ivor… Thank you so much my friend! ❣️

      Liked by 1 person

  19. Conny says:

    This is such an impressive piece of writing Cindy. I felt it deeply!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much Conny. I am humbled by your appreciation! ❣️

      Liked by 2 people

  20. Jeff Flesch says:

    That’s an amazing write, Cindy. It resonates with me deeply. Thank you fro this. 🥰

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much Jeff! I’m thrilled you resonated with it and really appreciate your kind appreciation! 💞🙏🏼

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Jeff Flesch says:

        You’re welcome, Cindy! I loved this write. 🥰

        Liked by 2 people

      2. ❤️🙏🙏💕❤️

        Liked by 1 person

  21. rothpoetry says:

    Very nicely done, Cindy! Imperfection is what makes this world beautiful!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much Dwight. Yes that is truly right! 💗 Have a perfect imperfect Sunday my friend! 💞

      Liked by 2 people

      1. rothpoetry says:

        Ha ha… I will… and you are welcome!

        Liked by 2 people

  22. Beautiful imagery, Cindy and so heartfelt! ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment