In One Puff by Karima Hoisan

Image: Dissolving and Becoming by Jan Betts

In One Puff
by Karima Hoisan
[author’s site]

The everyday… the simple, the light changing and coloring the room,
for a few minutes pure silence as the traffic mysteriously disappears.
I find I’m holding my breath in anticipation, of what? I’m not sure.
Now, the wind has hushed, the birds seem to be listening; I’m listening too.

The muse rustles the bushes, plays hide and seek on the shadows,
camouflaging, then revealing, she makes her way through my back yard.
What a very ordinary day she has chosen, there’s nothing exceptional… but her.
Newborn birds express an interest; wide-eyed in innocence they follow her light.

I don’t want to scare her away, so of course, I pretend I haven’t noticed
her circling and twinkling as she traverses the lawn, hiding inside the palms.
I feel she is teasing me, and at the same time answering my unconscious plea.
It’s been some time now, since I fell into a poetic flow and was carried away.

Have you ever seen your muse smiling as she approaches, all zig zag and playful?
I hope for at least a whisper in my ear, some idea, that I might use and call my own.
She is laughing and blows through my screen and in one puff, stands in front of me.
“So, you wish to write a poem today with nothing new to say? Done. Just sign it.”

@ Karima Hoisan
March 12, 2021
Costa Rica

ABOUT US 

Welcome to MasticadoresUSA.

MasticadoresUSA was founded by Juan Re Crivello as part of Gobblers/Masticadores in 2021. Its current editor is Gabriela Marie Milton.

MasticadoresUSA features talented writers of poetry and short prose. We primarily publish writers who write in English, and are based in the USA. However, while the publication language remains English, we also welcome the work of our fellow writers from all over the world.

What do we want to bring to our readers? Edgar Allan Poe once wrote: Poetry is the rhythmical creation of beauty in words. This is what we are committed to bringing to you. And that’s not an easy endeavor. 

SUBMISSIONS GUIDELINES 

If you want to submit, please send your work – poetry and/or short prose – to gabrielamariemilton@gmail.com. In addition to the piece(s), you want to have published, we need your name, and the address of your site. Submit your work as a docx attachment – not in the body of the email. Limit your submission to two pieces.  We do not accept pieces longer than 300 words.

What are the themes that we are looking for? Surprise us!

However, MasticadoresUSA does not publish any work that contains racist, homophobic, sexist, and hate talk of any kind.

Looking forward to your submissions. 

14 Comments Add yours

  1. jonicaggiano says:

    What a lovely piece and a sweet surprise to be writing about your muse. I love how you wrapped nature into your piece. I could see her as you described her. What a beautiful treat.

    “ I don’t want to scare her away, so of course, I pretend I haven’t noticed
    her circling and twinkling as she traverses the lawn, hiding inside the palms.”

    Such a beautiful image too. So nice to meet you here. Joni

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Joni!
    So very nice to meet you too and so happy to be published on this great site! Thanks to Gabriela, this poem is here today, along with the acrylic painting of one of my best friends in Costa Rica, Jan Betts.
    Thank you for your inspiring comment and I am so glad you enjoyed those lines. I have had a very intimate relationship with my muse for as long as I can remember. I love her, of course, and accept all her quirks and absences…always welcoming her back with open arms:) Looking forward to reading you too and getting to know you better:)
    Much love and appreciation,
    Karima

    Like

  3. daleinnis says:

    A lovely (and gently humorous) insight into the creative process. Thank you for sharing this!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Always my pleasure Dale! Thank you so much for appreciating it:) Your support has always been so important to me.

    Like

  5. Ingrid says:

    Enchanting! Sometimes muses are like that…

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Hi Ingrid,
    thank you for commenting on my poem..yes they really are:) Nice to meet you.

    Like

  7. You have an incredible muse that delivers so beautifully❣️❣️

    Like

    1. Thank you very much Cindy and yes I cherish her ❤️😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. soooo sweet, Happy to hear that💖❣️

        Like

  8. Jeff Flesch says:

    Even more beautiful the second read through, dear Karima. I love this poem. Congrats on being featured here. Lovely! ❤️🙏🥰🌺

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Jeff, for being such a great supportive friend to me and to my poetry…no matter when or where! You know I appreciate and value you so much ❤️🤗🙏🌹

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Jeff Flesch says:

    You’re most welcome, dear Karima. It is always my pleasure to read your lovely work. Has always, does, and will always speak to me. Awe, that is so kind, thank you, my dear friend, that means the world to me. I appreciate you too!! ❤🤗🙏✨💕

    Like

    1. 🤗🤗🤗❤️

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment